top of page

I Was Supposed to Run a Marathon Today :(

If everything had gone according to plan, I would be running Grandma's Marathon in Duluth, Minnesota at this moment. But, sadly, things did not go as planned.

Good news (silver lining), my knee is completely healed. (At least, I think.) I did work to strengthen my quads and did not run for 3.5 weeks. The bad news is during the time I wasn't running I could feel my feet (plantar fascia) getting tight. When I returned to running, that familiar heel pain came back. I was able to get in a thirteen-mile run and then hobble through a few short runs. Barely able to walk, I got another cortisone shot (while seeking some new solutions since I don't like getting injections).

On a run a few days later, I had a terrible step. I don't know if something tore or cramped up or whatever options are possible, but it was drastic. I could then barely walk for the next couple of days.

I was pretty panicked, depressed, and disappointed for a few days. It is gradually improving, however, and I am hoping to get back on track for this mission of 12 marathons in 12 months and finish raising $20,000 for the first scholarship. I am seeing a PT twice a week who scrapes at the knot with metal instruments and some cupping to loosen my calves. I am rolling my feet on this spiky device to break up the knot and stretching, stretching, stretching. It seems to improve each day so I am encouraged.

My current goal is to walk most of/run some of the Bay of Fundy marathon next Sunday. This marathon has an early start giving me 7.5 hours to complete the marathon. I think it will be cool (and not humid) and beautiful, so a nice environment to plug away for a long a time. If you have any audiobook or podcast recommendations, please let me know.

I really have no desire to tear the bottom of my foot in half so am going to be smart. I go back to the doctor on Thursday and plan to give him a good interview about what is happening with my foot and what could happen next. I am encouraged by the progress, however.

It's been an interesting couple of weeks with a lot of work to stay positive. Thanks to everyone who has encouraged me or just invited me to do something to keep me busy. Bless the lady at my gym who has been following my running who told me if she could touch my foot and heel it she would and who after finally recovering from her own injury obviously shares my love for running. There have been periodic moments like this throughout my running/fundraising journey that lift me up and keep me going. You never know when your encouragement is a real gift to someone so share kind words whenever possible.

bottom of page