top of page

Thorns and Roses

"Thorns and roses grow on the same tree."

What a great quote for today! Two weeks ago I shut myself down (which means I admitted that I was injured, stopped running and went to the doctor). A cortisone shot later (which I didn't have to even beg for) and some rest, I am ready to start gearing back up for the first race of this journey. The Louisiana Marathon is nine weeks (64 days) away. Oh, my! Even though I didn't want to take a break from running, it has come with benefits. I remember that I love running and am happier when I can do it. I can't wait to get going. I did two weeks of some hard-core strength and got into a good strength schedule that I think I will maintain until the end of the school year.

In terms of fundraising, I have experienced a lot of thorns this week. In fact, if we count roses as people saying, "Yes, I'd love to donate to this cause," there have been only thorns on the fundraising bush. I do, however, feel a new resolve. I am committed to this cause and will give it my all. Every time I talk to strangers about the scholarship fund and ask them to donate, it gets a little easier. I become a little less uncomfortable. My comfort zone may already be a little bit bigger.

I hope whatever challenges you faced recently have also come with some roses!

bottom of page