top of page

It's That Time of Year Again - Advice for Making Resolutions

Most of my friends no longer make resolutions because they feel they are doomed to fail. I have had much success staying on track with my resolutions year after year. Resolutions help me stay focused on what is important to me. Here is my advice if you would like to succeed at your 2018 resolutions:

1. Create a resolution that you can stick to all year. Why write a script that will make you feel like a failure or a quitter? Rather choose a resolution that you have a good chance to complete. My first resolution for 2017 was to exercise every Monday. I could run a few miles, attend an exercise class or do a few strength moves on my own. The standard was not high. I just needed to do something. As opposed to a goal of running at least twenty miles a week or only eating healthy food, I knew I could stick to this.

2. Pick a resolution that is under your control. This is where goals differ from resolutions. To run my fastest marathon is a goal. So many things could derail me. I could break my ankle or suffer another injury. I could work my hardest every day, but fall just short of my goal on race day. Though I have some element of control, I cannot ensure success. Do not confuse a goal with a resolution. I could stick to my exercise every Monday resolution even I got injured. There was no measure of success except to do it.

3. Clarify why your resolution is important to you. My second resolution last year was to create this scholarship fund. I knew it would be challenging because I am shy. Asking people for money is well outside my comfort zone. I am inspired by the kids I teach, however. I can imagine the first recipient's face when he or she learns of winning a full college scholarship. I know that this award will be life-changing to all who receive it. This thought was enough to keep me pushing forward even as I was turned down by many companies for donations.

4. Be forgiving if you find yourself off track. It is okay (and normal) to forget your resolution at some point during the year. Remember why the resolution was important to you, forgive yourself and get back to it. You do not need to be perfect.

Resolutions are a great way to stay focused on what is important to you whether that be family, your profession, exercise or anything else. Follow the

tips described above to set yourself up for success in the new year!

bottom of page